It’s funny…

I was just updating my Weakly Roundup page for Week 6, and I noticed how stupid I was being.

I’d spent the second half of the week feeling like a lard ass who was completely lacking motivation, dedication and drive – because I’d had 2 days this week with no exercise.¬† Then I realised that if I was reading someone elses stats, I would be impressed by their effort of getting out there and doing it at all, that they kept going back for more, and I think I’d even be a bit inspired… so why can’t I cut myself some slack?

I’d spent the second half of the week feeling like a half a failure because I have been eating crappy. Although my food choices are okay (??) I haven’t been eating enough to cover what I’ve been doing, and I am still yet to achieve a good balance. I know what I need to do, I’m just too lazy to do it. I’ve also found that getting enthusiastic about eating is difficult when you’re not hungry. If you’re only going through the motions because you have to, you just eat stuff. Sure, it’s low fat, high GI, protein/carbs unrefined WHATEVER, but it’s still eating crap.

How to overcome this? Alright, like the guy said ‘You know what you have to do, you just have to put it into practice’. I am happy with the way that the exercise is going at the moment (dispite having ‘moments’!), so I should concentrate on eating better – for the next week at least. Breakfast is easy, I got that one down pat last year, so I need to work on the other two meals of the day. And no, I don’t really like to snack unless I absolutely must – ie sugar levels dropping, temper fraying, – I find I eat too much. So I’ll concentrate on meals. One of the best ways I’ve found to keep yourself honest, is meal planning. Which has completely gone to shit since the lush of my life has been away (Things are so much easier when you have a companion who is also supportive and encouraging, don’t you think?), so I think the take home message for today is meal planning.

Starting now.
(I think this calls for a new page, and an updated objective list too!)

Leave a Reply

