I spent more money.

I was reading a blog earlier today (love love LOVE Tumblr!) and the author was discussing nutrient gels, and it dawned on me that maybe I died in the ass due to lack of nutrients? Hell, can’t hurt to try them – they’re so gross you’d only eat them out of dire necessity (having eaten several in Timor, where we “tidied up” after the Tour de Timor endurance bike race in 2009…

Had a look at the price of Gu gels here – individual packs sell for $3.40 in the shop, and a box of 24 will set you back between $65 (on special) and $72 (also on special – supposedly down from $92)… Yet in the US, they are $25 for a mixed box (which is not even an available option here), and although the price of postage is $60 (stay with me here), the savings I made on my shoes ($88 from the US vs $200 in Australia) made it an easy choice. Incidentally, my shoes got here just fine, and even though they are the most godawful boring grey colour, they’ll do the job very well.

That’s $112 saved on the shoes, and $1 extra spent on the Gu. Actually, that’s not quite right – cos I also got a pair of Under Armour shorts for $30. They’re 50 in the shop here, as are their singlets, which I was drooling over earlier today. I’m going to see how this sale goes, and may well be back to order more. Stay tuned!

The shop? http://www.roadrunnersports.com/

Leave a Reply

