Yesterday

I went for a run. All by myself. On a Saturday. In the morning. I do have witnesses if you need confirmation!

The lush of my life left early to go on a fishing charter I got him for Christmas (no eating fish, but he says he had fun, and that’s the main thing), so I was awake early, lying in bed, listening to all the squalling brats in the neighbourhood taking turns at pissing me off, when I decided to go for a run.

Unfortunately, I had left both pairs of shoes at work (I wore the spares on Friday when I ran the PT sessioin – killer circuits. They hating now. They’ll hate me worse next time!), and as I had to go and pick them up, I decided I’d check out the rest of the fire break along the fence. I have no idea why I decided to do that – I hate running on dirt at the best of times, and uneven ground – BLEH! (I blame the lush of my life for not being there to point this out to my addled sleep deprived brain) But I went.

Started off feeling very enthusiastic, pumped, motivated etc etc, and got to 5k and decided ‘I don’t want to do this anymore’. So I kept going. And the going got harder and harder: mentally – physically it was just a pain in the ass. I think it was because I was slower due to the uneven ground (Note to self – Yeah? Then why did you want to give it the ass BEFORE the ground got really shitty?), which fucked me up mentally – although the primary objective (Start) had been reached, and the secondary objective (Quit your whining and do it) was well under way. Plus I drank a whole camelbak, so I may have actually been dehydrated. Memo to me – drink before starting. Other thing I’d like to try for longer runs, is eating beforehand (like half an hour), just to see if it makes any difference. I don’t feel hungry, but I’d like to check if there’s a performance effect before the halfa in two weeks…

I find I like (is ‘like’ too strong a word?) running (okay, waddling) over paths I’ve already done before. I have done them and know I can do them again. Probably a confidence thing – I don’t know my body running well enough yet, we’re just getting to know each other. The track yesterday was half known, so it’ll be  interesting to try it again (maybe I shall do that tomorrow morning for PT?), and I’m not concerned about the slow time. Honest.

So yesterday, I achieved: Start, Go, 30 mins, 5K, 1hr, 10K, Finish.

That’s really not so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

