Christmas is coming!

Right now I’m thinking about how Christmas in my family (as in many others I’m sure!) tends to revolve around eating a lot. This year it’s a bit harder, now that we’re on the healthy bandwagon, plus there’s a lot of items we just don’t eat anymore – so how to deal with that?
I’ve decided to do a bit of meal planning, and make the meal preparation the focus of the day. There will still be plenty of food, but not gluttonous amounts of what I’d consider ‘bad choices’… and there’s still going to be some of those too!
We’ll have to start with nibblies. I’ll need to look into those a bit more, as I’m not used to doing them – maybe vegetable sticks and dip? Soup… will try something new I think, I’m used to having soup as a main, and it really needs to complement the whole menu, so that’ll take some looking up. The lush has requested a ham, which the excess can be frozen for lunches etc, and I would like a roast something – we’ll be looking to buy that online… deserts, well, we’re likely to have two. Just because someone doesn’t like rasins in his apple pie while someone else does. At the least, it’ll mean two pies :). There will be some extra nuts and some gummi fruits in there too – just cos it’s Christmas!
So hopefully, we can have a fun family day without going too crazy. I’m actually really looking forward to it now – and not focusing what I can’t eat, but rather what I can.

Leave a Reply

