My, doesn’t time fly?

All I can imagine is that I haven’t had an awful lot to say over the past few years.

I’m sorry. Not sorry.

Recap? In a nutshell, still with the lush of my life, in Sydney but not for long. Coming to the end of another work cycle and about to move again… not thrilled, but what can you do? Next on the agenda is Newcastle, NSW – hopefully for longer than a few years, but there is nothing in this job that is a given (except maybe payday!), so who knows.

I have been half assed with my exercise since coming back from overseas in 2013, and I am going to try and get my mojo back. Running has been limited to trail runs – and nowhere near often enough as I’d like, so that’s also something that has to change. Eating has been pretty good, but I’ve fallen into a bit of a rut with the old ‘just this one/once/meal’ sneaking in. So I’ve had to make a promise to myself. To look after myself better. That’s it. And I have to remind myself of this promise at least 87 times a day (especially when I’m eating with work and therefore waaaay too much yummy food). To look after myself better means to take care of myself. To think about what I’m doing or not doing, and to do the things I should do, more, and the stuff I shouldn’t do, less. I’m not going to say I won’t fuck up, I’m going to give myself permission to make the choice. And hope like hell that the choice I make 99 times out of 100 will be the best choice for myself.

So today, I am looking after myself better.

I got up early and went to the gym. Sure it wasn’t anything spectacular – a few light arm free weights, a couple of km on the dreadmill and some pilates to sort out those stupid adductors of mine that don’t exist. The main point was, I went. I got up, and I did something. And perhaps this afternoon I’ll do some more… although I am kind’ve enjoying lying on my back in the peace and quiet – it won’t last for long I’m sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

